Having some trouble flying...

OrbitalConfusion

Reaction score
I was wondering if some of you might be able to give me some tips when flying in FSX. I've been working with it for 2 years now and although I can do alot, there are still things I cant do well. Basic things...

1) Staying on a glide slope. Depending on what im using whether it be ILS to guide me in or VFR and using the 4 lights. I cant seem to keep a stable 'slope. Usually I will have 3 lights on and come in that way. The thought process behind it is its easier to loose a little altitude than to gain it.

2) Staying lined up on landing. This one is tough. I dont know if its because its harder to line up on a computer screen versus actually looking out the front window of a plane. It seems when I get down to about 500 I realize what was perfect really was not.

3) Turning and maintaining a steady altitude. I watch people all the time turn (with AP off) and its always so very steady.. Turning is a real chore with trying to keep a desired altitude. Ideas?

For now, lets assume the plane being used for these questions is the default cessna in fsx. I have really gotten used to autopilot and I feel like im somehow cheating.. Maybe its not really cheating, but i feel im cheating myself. For landing I have been using AP until about 500 feet at which point I turn it off and make small corrections... I wish I could get myself there in the same position without AP... Making those small corrections.

Anyways, anyone got a bone they can throw at me? thanks. :)

Cras

Spring of Life!
Donator
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
The absolute first thing you learn about when learning how to fly is trim. You trim for power. So set your throttle, and trim your airplane. Then, do not use the yoke to stay on glideslope, use power.