Problem making a shell in animator

Alexw95

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Reaction score
i am having a bit of troubble making a shell as a fairing in animator i started with a cilider i made it the shape of my fairing but how do i make it hollo?

PhantomCruiser

Wanderer
Tutorial Publisher
Reaction score
Center your fairing along the centerline of the screen and ust the line drawing tool. Then using the [build] tab, select [lathe] from the drop down menu. Lathe along the long axis... Remember to input how many sides (24 for me seems to work nicely), and if you want the ends open or closed.
One of the guys here on the forum is working on a Falcon9, he had his fairing pictured on his blog, another Orbitnaut mentioned the "Shell" tool to beef up the appearance of the fairing. Using point-select (I think) the button looks like a "U" laying on it's side.
Do a search on the 'hanger for AR81's tutorial on modelling a rocket. It's what helped me get started.
And if you have any questions, ask away, I'll be happy to assist.

kwan3217

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Shell can't shell a closed object. There must be at least one open face to do it. If you are using the cylinder primitive, first double-click on the cylinder and turn one or both of the end faces off. Then go to Build/Convert to mesh, because Shell doesn't work on primitives, only meshes. Finally, shell should work.

Alexw95

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Reaction score
i have read all the tutorials in the past but the method you said to make a hollow fairing makes the faring so thing that when you look at the top you dont see anything

n122vu

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score