Problem Mesh Problem

Live4Him

New member
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I am doing kev 33's spacecraft2 tutorial. I am trying to test the spacecraft in Orbiter, and whenever I do, I get a CTD and it tells me in the log that it can't find: ./Meshes/.msh It's really frusturating, because I have the mesh in the right place, it just can't seem to find it. Any suggestions?

I tell you the truth, unless you are born again, you cannot see the Kingdom of God ~Jesus
 
Last edited:

mc_

New member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
342
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
South-Western Siberia
As far as i know (i had the same problem before), this problem is about mesh file location. Check again, please.

And, if it possible, write here a piece of config file, where the mesh is referred, and a true mesh file adress.

//sorry for lame english. Hope you'll understand me.
 

Woo482

Moderator
Moderator
Addon Developer
GFX Staff
Joined
Feb 13, 2008
Messages
3,048
Reaction score
20
Points
78
Location
Earth?
Any chance of you showing us your .ini file that'll help us find the problem?, and you might want to try using Spacecraft3 (ar81 does some amazing tutorials for it) it's much more advance and newer than Spacecraft2.
and :welcome: to Orbiter-Forum !
 

Live4Him

New member
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Here is the part of the ini. file that defines the spacecraft:
[CONFIG]
MESHNAME="Simple-Craft"
SIZE=25
EMPTY_MASS=10000
FUEL_MASS=20000
MAIN_THRUST=6e5
RETRO_THRUST=3e5
ATTITUDE_THRUST=6e5
ISP=50000
TRIM=0.05
PMI=(15.5,22.1,7.7)
CW_Z_POS=0.09
CW_Z_NEG=0.09
CW_X=2.
CW_Y=1.4
CROSS_SECTION=(53.0,186.9,25.9)
COG=2.47
PITCH_MOMENT_SCALE=0.00005
BANK_MOMENT_SCALE=0.00005
ROT_DRAG=(1.5,1.5,1.5)
WING_ASPECT=0.7
WING_EFFECTIVENESS=2.5
LAND_PT1=(0,-1.1,9)
LAND_PT2=(-4,-1.95,-5)
LAND_PT3=(4,-1.95,-5)
VISIBLE=1
CAMERA=(0,1.22,5.4)
MAIN_PSTREAM1=engine
I also tried changing the Mesh name to: Orbiter/Meshes/Simple-Craft. I got the same thing. Oh, and thanks for all your help! I'll be praying for you all.:)
 

vonneuman

Orbinaut
Joined
Nov 8, 2009
Messages
254
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Missouri S&T
Also, show us your Orbiter log and the scenario file, some times the problem is not the addon, but how you are using it.

//sorry for lame english. Hope you'll understand me.
Your English is fine, don't sweat it.
 

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
10,485
Reaction score
209
Points
138
Location
Kent
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
do you have a mesh in the meshes directory called "simple-craft.msh"

Can you please post your scenario file? I'd suggest wrapping it in CODE /CODE tags for readability.
 

mc_

New member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
342
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
South-Western Siberia
for example

Here is my "mesh testing stuff", for example. Hope it will help you.

Mesh is placed in Orbiter\Meshes\spacecraft, filename is test.msh

test.ini file (placed in Orbiter\config\spacecraft):
Code:
[CONFIG]
MESHNAME="spacecraft\test"
SIZE=6
EMPTY_MASS=8000
PMI=(7.7,7.7,2.3)
COG=2.0
//No fuel, engines, etc. Just a mesh test after compilation.

And a piece of test.scn
Code:
test:Spacecraft\Spacecraft3
  STATUS Landed Earth
  POS -80.6797790 28.5998560
  HEADING 330.01
  NAVFREQ 94 481
  RCS 1
  CTRL_SURFACE 1
  CONFIGURATION 1
  CURRENT_PAYLOAD 0
END

Result will look like this:


Your English is fine, don't sweat it.
It may be fine, but it's still intuitive. I just don't know how it should be, main criteria is "sounds good" or "sounds bad". Sometimes it works, but my english teacher would commit suicide if she read it.
 

Live4Him

New member
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Here is the scenario file:

BEGIN_DESC
Simple-Craft at KSC airport...Press + and CTRL to engage your thrust...
END_DESC

BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
System Sol
Date MJD 51987.8209125220
END_ENVIRONMENT

BEGIN_FOCUS
Ship Simple-Craft
END_FOCUS

BEGIN_CAMERA
TARGET Simple-Craft
MODE Extern
POS 3.69 -138.84 -12.16
TRACKMODE AbsoluteDirection
FOV 30.00
END_CAMERA

BEGIN_HUD
TYPE Surface
END_HUD

BEGIN_SHIPS
Simple-Craft:Spacecraft\Spacecraft2
STATUS Landed Earth
POS -80.6858943 28.5906644
HEADING 330.01
FUEL 1
PRPLEVEL 0:1.000
NAVFREQ 94 481
CONFIGURATION 1
CURRENT_PAYLOAD 0
SEQ 0 -2 0.000000
END
END_SHIPS
Also, I have Simple-Craft.msh in that directory, but it still cannot seem to find it.
 

Woo482

Moderator
Moderator
Addon Developer
GFX Staff
Joined
Feb 13, 2008
Messages
3,048
Reaction score
20
Points
78
Location
Earth?
Try creating this file in your "config/Vessels" directory:
Code:
Meshname = Simple-Craft
Mass = 1e1
call it "MyMesh.cfg" or something and add it to your scenario, that'll help you see if the mesh itself is causing the crash, and do you mind using the "code" tags around your scenario and .ini files? it makes them much easier to read.
 

Live4Him

New member
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Points
0
mc_, your English is fine, thanks for your help!
 

Live4Him

New member
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I inserted MyMesh.cfg into the main orbiter directory and it gave me a CTD. I'm not sure what the deal is!:thumbsdown:
 
Last edited:
Top