Problem multistage 2 help

pilotpercy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
106
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
blackburn
hi guys, working on my 2nd addon now. decided to learn how to use multistage 2, maybe put in a few animations etc. btw the morris lander i was working on is avalable here [ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=3828"]The Morris Lander[/ame]

ive made a simple mesh to learn with (2 stages, 1 stage seperation, 2 fairings and one payload) and i have been using the files supplied with multistage 2 as a guide as to how to write the INI files.

i copied pretty much exactly the "demo" 3 stage ship and changed and values according to my ship.

when i try and run this in orbiter it CTD's and in the orbiter log it says;

>>> ERROR: No vessel class configuration file found for:
>>> ERROR: Multistage\two_stage
>>> [C:\Source\Orbiter\Vessel.cpp / 248]
>>> TERMINATING <<<

The demo ship did'nt have ant vessel files,

does anyone know where im going wrong?

cheers.
 

astrosammy

Dash!
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Apr 27, 2008
Messages
2,124
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Location
ICAO ID: EDFB
Could you post the scenario you use? That may help to find out the cause of the error.
 

pilotpercy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
106
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
blackburn
here is the scenario file:

BEGIN_DESC
fingers crossed!!!!!
END_DESC
BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
System Sol
Date MJD 51982.9067479746
END_ENVIRONMENT
BEGIN_FOCUS
Ship twostage
END_FOCUS
BEGIN_CAMERA
TARGET DEMO
MODE Extern
POS 2.89 0.74 -110.96
TRACKMODE TargetRelative
FOV 70.00
END_CAMERA
BEGIN_STATIONS
END_STATIONS
BEGIN_SHIPS
DEMO_1:Multistage\two_stage
STATUS Landed Earth
BASE Cape Canaveral:11
HEADING 0.00
FUEL 1.000
CONFIG_FILE Config\multistage\twostage.ini
CONFIGURATION 0
CURRENT_STAGE 1
CURRENT_PAYLOAD 1
FAIRING 1
END
END_SHIPS


does this shed any light?
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,439
Reaction score
689
Points
203
Do you have a *.cfg file named "two_stage.cfg" in the subfolder "Multistage" of your "Config" folder? If not, there's your problem.
 

pilotpercy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
106
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
blackburn
Do you have a *.cfg file named "two_stage.cfg" in the subfolder "Multistage" of your "Config" folder? If not, there's your problem.


ah, bingo, what should be in this file? ive got one for the payload, it reads;

; === Configuration file for vessel class payload===
ClassName = payload
MeshName = multistage\ts_payload
Size = 4.8
Mass = 4000. ; empty mass [kg]
MaxFuel =0 ; max fuel mass [kg]
Isp =0 ; fuel specific impulse [m/s]
MaxMainThrust = 0
MaxRetroThrust = 0
MaxHoverThrust = 0
MaxAttitudeThrust =0
COG_OverGround = 0
CameraOffset = -.715 .865 -2.5
CW = 0.2 0.5 1.5 1.5
LiftFactor = 0.0
CrossSections = 16. 16. 16.
 

astrosammy

Dash!
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Apr 27, 2008
Messages
2,124
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Location
ICAO ID: EDFB
DEMO_1:Multistage\two_stage

After taking a look at other multistage scenarios I think you have to change that to:

DEMO_1:Multistage\Multistage2
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,439
Reaction score
689
Points
203
Only this:

Code:
ClassName = Multistage2
Module = Multistage2
 

Eagle

The Amazing Flying Tuna Can
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
1,105
Reaction score
3
Points
0
No, the above is wrong (with exception for astrosammy). You do not need .cfg files for multistage vessels. Only a single .ini

You need to tell Orbiter that your craft is a multistage2 vessel. Its configuration is not two_stage it is Multistage2.

In your ships it should read:
Code:
BEGIN_SHIPS
DEMO_1:[B]Multistage\Multistage2[/B]
  STATUS Landed Earth
  BASE Cape Canaveral:11
  HEADING 0.00
  FUEL 1.000
  CONFIG_FILE [B]Config\multistage\two_stage.ini[/B]
  CONFIGURATION 0
  CURRENT_BOOSTER 1
  CURRENT_STAGE 1
  CURRENT_PAYLOAD 1
  FAIRING 1
END
The only time you need .cfg or additional (spacecraft3).ini files are for the vessels that are spawned for spent stages, fairings and payloads.
 

Usonian

Historic Ship & Base Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
220
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
Asheville, NC
You can also learn more by looking at other addons. BrianJ is my multistage guru. He has gotten into some custom .dll in his most recent addons, but the bulk of them are SC3 and MS2.

http://www.orbithangar.com/search_quick.php?text=BrianJ

I used multistage for launching MER and Skylab, but that all started with cribbing off of BrianJ.

In addition to the advice you have already received, verify that you have the file stage.cfg in the root Config directory.
 
Top