Orbiter for Teachers

rthorbur

Reaction score
Disclaimer: I am very new to Orbiter.

I am a teacher at a middle school. As part of my duties I get to teach an elective class. I would dearly like to use Orbiter to teach the basics of spaceflight (e.g. Prograde, Retrograde, Eccentricity, how and when to burn to change Eccentricity/Orbit, etc.).

Has anyone tried this before and/or does any have suggestions on how I might do this?

Ultimately it would be cool if I could get the kids to plan a trip to the moon including:

• Orbital dynamics
  • Resource planning
- How much water to bring
- How much food to bring
- How much Oxygen to bring

- What are our weight limitations (i.e. Max Payload capacity)
  • What science do we plan on doing when we get there?
  • A mock flight to the moon played back on Orbiter using our parameters.
Etc.

tl8

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Reaction score
hmm, First off, I would go through the basics on paper.

Then I would show the kids how a launch happens with a prerecorded flight, show them the MFDs and what they mean.

I would strongly recommend the DGIV to start of with, it is by far the best beginners ship.

With your lunar assignment, everything will depend on how you are going to do it.

Are you going to use apollo or something more furturistic, or even a DG or XR series craft.

But before that, get them know how to get to orbit, and how to use the MFDs.

Good Luck

Kaito

Orbiquiz Coordinator
Reaction score
yeah, the DGIV will probably be the best one to use for beginners. If they want to watch an orbit insertion, you could do Pro903spec42. It will auto-launch you at a heading of 42 degrees. You can change that to whatever you'd like. That auto-pilot will get you into orbit with an eccentricity of 0

Good luck!

rthorbur

Reaction score
hmm, First off, I would go through the basics on paper.

I would strongly recommend the DGIV to start of with, it is by far the best beginners ship.