Question Random Empty Q:\ drive...

mojoey

Bwoah
Reaction score
So, when I fired up Malwarebytes to do a scan before I went to bed, it asked which drives I wanted to scan, it displayed C:\ (my HDD) D:\ (recovery partition) E:\ (Optical Drive) F:\ (USB) and Q:\ (unknown)

So, i went to see what was going on. I looked to see how big it is, and it is exactly 0 bytes big. At this point I'm going :WTF:. So, I see if taking ownership will help. It doesn't work, I get an access is denied error when attempting to do so, even though I am a full admin on this computer now. So, should I be freaking out, or should I blame it on a virus, or System Restore?

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
What about checking which driver or device is responsible for Q first? It could be a device of your computer.

mojoey

Bwoah
Reaction score
No, didn't check, but my computer has been updating recently, but I've never heard of it creating an empty partition...in fact, as soon as I'm done with some things, i'll let the system reboot, and see what happens

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
No, didn't check, but my computer has been updating recently, but I've never heard of it creating an empty partition...in fact, as soon as I'm done with some things, i'll let the system reboot, and see what happens

Check the device first, I would say, it is very likely no partition at all, but a device of itself. Maybe a cardreader, maybe a mobile phone service, maybe a network device, maybe something related to another service which creates a virtual file system when active.

mojoey

Bwoah
Reaction score
Daemon Tools comes to mind, but I removed it two days ago, and this didn't show up
I don't have a card reader, nor a cell phone device, just the Wifi card...

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Reaction score
Website
blog.gdwnet.com