Recommendation for lifting rocket.

Oldsalter

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 18, 2020
Messages
25
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Location
FAREHAM
NameI recently started a new Orbiter 10 as my rocket version had become hopelessly clogged up with add ons, that do not work as loaded out of the tin. In other words they required a previous add on, that required a previous add on, to work in an endless search for some missing file to make it all work. There are many reasons for this, the developer (who I respect and praise) does not have the right, or the will power to track down the previous works, that actually are needed to make their excellent work operate and sometimes I wonder, if files get lost in time and space.
So decided to start from scratch, downloaded Orbiter 100830.msi and put this in a hangar for further use. In fact I have two, Orbiter hangar and Rocket bay denoting the two types of craft. The annoying thing is, a lot of stuff, that must have taken an awful lot of work to produce, I just cannot use. Full of praise for the AMSO the graphics and detail are excellent and then unfortunately some thing that was working i.e. Multistage, you add something and that stops working.
Many good works seem to have been developed for 2006 which I have never used. Some spacecraft you would like to use do not work in your version. Any body who could recommend a lifting rocket that works out of the tin to take the delta glider IV into orbit in Orbiter 10, I would much appreciate that recommendation. Thanks for listening, Oldsalt. Oldsalter.
 
Last edited:

PhantomCruiser

Wanderer
Moderator
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
5,611
Reaction score
174
Points
153
Location
Cleveland
You can make you life a bit easier with the Jonesoft Generic Mod enabler.

What this does is make a folder in your Orbiter installation (by default is titled [MODS]).
When you unzip an addon, unzip it to this folder. If the developer kept the proper directory structure (most do) it'll make it a breeze to add or remove Orbiter mods.
 

Oldsalter

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 18, 2020
Messages
25
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Location
FAREHAM
JSGME

I have downloaded JSGME and will give it ago.
So far in Rocket 2010 which is what I have named orbiter for rockets.

I have set up the following
1) Orbiter100830 Msi version complete
2) Orbiter Sound 4.0
3) AMOS-123
4) DeltaGliderIV-3 (may be should have gone last due UMU bug)
5) Multistage2015_forOrbiter2010P1
6) White Thunder

Why White thunder well i put some tubes together in gmax calling it firstry1 and I had problems getting any textures to the msh stage as well.

Also I must admit that I had made edits to firstry1 in orbiter which I had not copied back to the original file. So when I came to run it, it failed miserably and I scratched my head trying to remember touch down points etc.
At the moment I am looking at GDESU "Create and launch your own rocket" and put his H-IIB Rocket on Orbiter "the name reminds me of a 2B pencil" which we used to use for chart work.
Thank you PhantomCruiser for your help. All the best Oldsalt er..
 

Oldsalter

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 18, 2020
Messages
25
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Location
FAREHAM
Installation of and use of JGSME.

Good day all
Following the thread of the above messages.

The idea of putting of the JGSME in orbiter was not so daunting
as I have seen it used before in IL-2 CUP, Dark Blue world
and mods like that.

So installed into the individual Game not centrally.


JGSME Loaded the G42-200 starliner as a trial.

Using the JGSME it puts the appropriate files in the appropriate folders.

But when I run orbiter I get this warning message..


Orbiter 2010:eek:rbiter.exe - Entry Point Not Found

The procedure entry point ??0VESSEL$@@QAE@PAXH@Z could not be located
in the dynamic link library Orbiter.exe.


Orbiter opens with a basic cockpit but no fuel though.


Orbiter load log says the following

---------------------------------------------------------------
>>> ERROR: Could not load vessel module: G422
>>> [Vessel::LoadModule | .\Vessel.cpp | 5442]
---------------------------------------------------------------

I Will try another add on that I know works out of the box
and see what happens.

But any help appreciated.

Oldsalt er.

---------- Post added 05-20-20 at 05:37 AM ---------- Previous post was 05-19-20 at 07:54 AM ----------

Last post on this thread.
The G42-200 Starliner would appear to be for 2016 not 2010 so the error
may well be attributable to this. Loaded the James Cook into Mods and
no problems so far. Thanks to PhantomCruiser ..
A little re-organizing of drives and files to put in place.. Oldsalt
 
Last edited:

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
3,136
Reaction score
410
Points
123
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
Top