C++ Question Structure of C++ code for orbiter

J_Aerospace

Reaction score
Hi First of all i am not really a newbie to c++ but i how ever cannot make head nor tale of the structure regarding the code for makeing plugins etc...
I have read many tutorials but they do not (in my mind) relate to a standard c++ program. Does anyone have any pointers. I would like to build some mfd's or standalone programs that call variables from the main orbiter program e.g speed alt etc...

Thanks

computerex

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Orbiter plug-ins are dlls, or dynamic link library. Dlls contain a bunch of functions that other programs can import and use. That's what Orbiter does, it loads your plug-in dll, imports the callback functions inside of it, and then it calls them approprietely. A dll won't be your typical C++ program..It's a collection of functions. Here's a simple Orbiter module:

Code:
#define STRICT
#define ORBITER_MODULE 

#include <orbitersdk.h>

DLLCLBK void opcPreStep(double simt, double simdt, double mjd)
{
      sprintf(oapiDebugString(), "Simulation time: %.2f minutes", simt/60);
}

This will simply print the simulation time in minutes every frame on the lower left hand corner. Orbiter imports the opcPreStep (notice the dllclbk, for exporting the function) and calls it every time step. I hope that helps. For further help, look at the SDK samples.

agentgonzo

Grounded since '09
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Website
orbiter.quorg.org
Hi First of all i am not really a newbie to c++ but i how ever cannot make head nor tale of the structure regarding the code for makeing plugins etc...
I have read many tutorials but they do not (in my mind) relate to a standard c++ program. Does anyone have any pointers. I would like to build some mfd's or standalone programs that call variables from the main orbiter program e.g speed alt etc...

Thanks