Flight Question TransX Question.

RAF Blackace

Reaction score
I have flown the Voyager mission once with success (Just), but wanted to try it again. But this time I am faced with a problem I just don't know the answer to, probably because I am still learning the intricacies of TransX.

The images are from the successful mission, they show me just before entering Jupiter's SOI and set up for what appears to be a perfect slingshot to Saturn. But despite being on the right apparent trajectory the approach to Saturn seems off for some reason?

The current mission I am on has an even worse off set to Saturn and even though I correct the slingshot trajectory to keep is as close to the plan as I can, when I leave Jupiter's SOI and the plan jumps to the cruise to Saturn the offset is so great it uses up nearly all the fuel to correct it. The error post sling of Jupiter appears to end up almost the same as the error pre sling Jupiter. Regardless of how accurate I stick to the plan.

Even this successful mission used nearly 40% of the available fuel to correct the trajectory to Saturn, leaving very little left for the rest of the trip. I managed to fly past Neptune with 0.05% fuel left so I only just made it.

My question is. What can I do to reduce the apparent trajectory error shown at stage 4, when I am still at stage 1?

Attachments

• Sling.JPG
    Sling.JPG
    63.2 KB · Views: 24

RAF Blackace

Reaction score
I think I have worked out what is happening. Because TransX does not take into consideration all bodies, despite it thinking I am on a perfect slingshot trajectory, I am not. I need to add an offset to the Pe Ratio just after the final trajectory course manoeuvre.