XR Vessels Open-Source Development

Max-Q

99 40
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Website
www.orbiter-forum.com
Did you actually modify the geometry of the mesh, or just add code?
If the mesh was not modified, I don't think you are creating a derivative work of it, and thus could release under the same license as @dbeachy1.

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer!

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Although its applicability is still being debated, could the EU Orphan Works Directive potentially be of use here
I wouldn't think so. The directive requires an official registration of the work by a cultural herritage institution, and grants rights only to such institutions (which I'm pretty sure requires another registration...). It's probably waaaaaay less hassle to make a new mesh, and according to my experience with hidden costs in bureaucratic processes, it might even be cheaper to hire a professional to do it...

WingC3

Donator
Donator
Reaction score
I wouldn't think so. The directive requires an official registration of the work by a cultural herritage institution, and grants rights only to such institutions (which I'm pretty sure requires another registration...). It's probably waaaaaay less hassle to make a new mesh, and according to my experience with hidden costs in bureaucratic processes, it might even be cheaper to hire a professional to do it...
That seems logical.

Any idea what such an endeavour might cost? (The hiring of professional to do it?)

If one were going to get any cockpit professionally made, it probably ought to be this one as it has to be the most flown ship in Orbiter outside of the default ships.

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Reaction score
If one were going to get any cockpit professionally made, it probably ought to be this one as it has to be the most flown ship in Orbiter outside of the default ships.
I think dgatsoulis is working on something to make the cockpit actually interactible...