A few questions

Dambuster

Reaction score
Ok, so here goes - I have a couple of questions, on sort of related topics (I think):

1) What (good) does increasing your angle of bank do during re-entry?

2) If my hull begins to overheat during re-entry, what should I do?

3) I'd quite like to become 'good' at Orbiter (as in know how to operate one of the spacecraft from take-off to landing). Where should I start? I have several years of experience in flights sims (I bought MSFS 2000 around 5 years ago, I'm 16 now and have a pretty good grasp (in my opinion at least :p) of atmospheric flight).

4) So far I've been working almost exclusively on reentrys, but I always seem to wind up being over Cape Canaveral at around an altitude of 60K. I'm using Aerobrake and BaseSync MFDs (although I really don't know how to use Aerobrake MFD, or what to use it for). Also, I'm not sure at all about the various steps necessary to reenter.

Thanks for any help,
Dambuster

GregBurch

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Ok, so here goes - I have a couple of questions, on sort of related topics (I think):

Since every ship performs differently, specific responses aren't possible. But there are some general principles.

1) What (good) does increasing your angle of bank do during re-entry?

Basically, banking back and forth is a way to bleed off speed and altitude while covering less distance on your ground track.

2) If my hull begins to overheat during re-entry, what should I do?

Put your head between your legs and kiss your butt goodbye.

Seriously, about the only thing you can do is get less air passing over your skin, which means getting higher -- but that probably also means missing your target -- thus, see #1 above.