Discussion Could we build realistic-air-dynamics with FLZ-Vortex into Orbiter?

Col Brubaker

Hoax Developer
Reaction score
Years ago I played with an old version of FLZ-Vortex. to build flying wings out of styropor.
https://flz-vortex.de/

First you need to enter airfoil profiles and build a wing from it. Then you can start calculations with different angles. And there has to be an angle of indifference: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Angle_of_incidence_(aerodynamics)

At a flying wings the wing tips have a slightly downwards angle of indifference. For normal planes you need to build a second wing for the elevator.
FLZ could really be used to build a very realistic real time flight behaviour into our mainly delta-wings.
- But I am not a coder. Our computers are actually fast enough now to run this in real time.

Last edited:

Thunder Chicken

Fine Threads since 2008
Donator
Reaction score
Vortex lattice methods are derived from Prandtl's lifting line theory, and generally assume air is incompressible and inviscid. They can be used to estimate lift and moment coefficients for flight in Mach numbers less than about 0.3, but that might still be useful as the wave drag functions might bridge the gap to higher Mach numbers. They will tend to underestimate drag as viscosity and boundary layers are not considered.

There would be no need to run it in real time, or to combine it into Orbiter in any way. If you wanted to, you could put an Orbiter mesh geometry into FLZ-Vortex and have it produce a table of coefficients as a function of angle of attack which could then be entered into an add-on through the airfoil definitions. it would be far more efficient to interpolate such a table than to try to run the vortex lattice solver at every time step of an Orbiter simulation.

Col Brubaker

Hoax Developer
Reaction score