Lunar Capital City Competition

StevoPistolero

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
So I am an urban designer/city planner/architect. I heard about an design competition... for a lunar capital city on the moon!

http://www.shiftboston.org/moon1.html

I want to lead a team of designers to win this competition and represent the Orbiter community. The only reason I want to lead it is that I am in the field, I have the skills to do renderings, and I know what they are looking for. But there is no doubt a lot of talent out there in the forum, and we will need all of it, especially artistic talent but also conceptual talent.

They want us to look at the physics of living on the moon. Microgravity, vacuum, etc, there are some engineering challenges. They want a sustainable energy source. Most of all, they want us to imagine a reason for being on the moon. A lunar economy, a lunar culture. And they want it to be visionary; no bucky-balls left over from the 60s. They want some far-out architecture.

With our pooled resources from the forum, I have no doubt in my mind that we can win this thing. To begin with, we may need to open up a new sub-forum for discussion.

Who is with me? Let's get the conversation rolling!

P.S. There is a cash prize.

T.Neo

SA 2010 Soccermaniac
Addon Developer
Reaction score
And they want it to be visionary; no bucky-balls left over from the 60s. They want some far-out architecture.

You get what you get, I suppose- the Moon is a pretty harsh environment. Little time for visionary architecture.

But hey, if the engineering looks cool then there's nothing wrong with that right? ;)

Andy44

owner: Oil Creek Astronautix
Addon Developer
Reaction score
So where do we start? I'll sign on, although my free time's limited at the moment.

How comprehensive is it? Will it also include an explanation of how the necessary materials and equipment will be shipped to the moon and how the rest will be fabricated?