Meshing Question Noob question on making a rocket interstage

Cosmic Penguin

Geek Penguin in GTO
News Reporter
Donator
Reaction score
Hi all. I'm sounding like a noob here, but I've problems with making a certain feature in anim8or. It's an interstage with provision of "hot-firing" of the second stage engine, with the grids in a triangular structure around the first stage. This can be seen in the Soyuz, the Proton and the rocket I'm trying to build (see attachment).

Can anyone here teach me how to make it? I can't make it into a regularly-spaced grid, only chaotic ones. Thanks! :tiphat:

GPS

Attachments

• AF5.jpg
    AF5.jpg
    191.5 KB · Views: 18
  • AF6.jpg
    AF6.jpg
    107 KB · Views: 17

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Use mirroring and take advantage of the center of symetry. For exemple :

1) Build two rings that will support the lattice structure (one at the top, one at the bottom).

2) Use cylinders (with not too much sides) to make triangles. Two cylinders will share a common point located on one of the rings (you should have a V). Place that "V" so that the common point is on X=0 or Z=0.

3) When you have adjusted them, convert the cylinders to meshes, then use mirroring. You will have a similar V at the opposite of the circle.

4) Then you group those two "opposite V", copy-paste, and rotate them. You have to make several attempts to find the good angle.

5) Repeat the process. You will have "VVVVV". The challenge is to make sure you will not have a "gap" somewhere. Some calculations can help.

6) When you have your "circle of VVVVV", copy-paste it, then flip it by 180° vertical (Y). You should get a full circle of "XXXXXXX", which makes a nice lattice structure. :)

Edit : wait, I'll post some pictures to illustrate this properly

Last edited:

Cosmic Penguin

Geek Penguin in GTO
News Reporter
Donator
Reaction score
Use mirroring and take advantage of the center of symetry. For exemple :