Flight Question Orbit & Sync orbit fuel savings: WHY?

ceauke

Reaction score
Hi guys

I've been playing orbiter a few times over the last few years. I'm far from a rocket scientist or educated on extreme physics but I was hoping someone could give me some more sciency answer on fuel savings regarding adjusting your orbit to be round and aligning the orbital plane. So far all the manuals I see just say what is the most economical way of doing it. E.g. the apogee and perigee is the best places to change orbit size, and some mention that an eliptical orbit may have some points that's more fuel efficient for aligning planes.

I did some testing or playing and it seems like it's 'cheaper' in fuel to align planes at the apogee rather than perigee. Is this correct?

Then my question is why? How do you put the physics into simple english? For orbit size adjustments I guess the answer has something to do with the minimum and maximum kenetic and potential energies? I have no idea... And what about aligning planes? To me it seems like the orbit has to shift so much more at apogee, so I cannot figure out why I need a shorter burn at apogee to align plane than at perigee.

I hope some of the above made some sense

Thanks!

Last edited:

PeterRoss

Warranty man
Reaction score
Website
vk.com
Your velocity in apogee is always lower than in perigee. So you need less dV to change your movement vector. Just try to imagine this in vectors, you'll understand everything.

---------- Post added at 08:31 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:24 AM ----------

Since I'm no rocket scientist either my explanation may be incomplete or even wrong. Still it works for me. I'll be glad to hear any more correct explanation.

---------- Post added at 09:13 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:31 AM ----------

One more thing. Apogee plane alignment will be fuel-efficient only if the apogee will coincide with ascending or descending node. In any other cases - yes, it will be too much to shift.