Question Reprograming rockets, the rules??

whecsailor

Reaction score
Hi
Gene a long time ago (2003) made the Thor family of rockets. I am unable to locate him and wish ,, as my first attempt into Orbiter, to mod the coding (update it) so that it can fly again.
Is is this allowed if I give him full credit for his research and models?

OR

Should I just rebuild them myself. I am a average gmax modeler, but this will be my first try into orbiter.

Thanks
Mike Davis

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
2003 models & textures will be a little outdated IMHO. That's nearly 10 years ago.

I'd say dive into the big pool of addons developpers. ;)

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
Hi
Gene a long time ago (2003) made the Thor family of rockets. I am unable to locate him and wish ,, as my first attempt into Orbiter, to mod the coding (update it) so that it can fly again.

That is a problem. Unless he has a copy-left license included, you are entering a world of pain there.

No, generally not. If he permits this, giving him credit is the minimum. Not the alternative to asking him for permission.

Should I just rebuild them myself. I am a average gmax modeler, but this will be my first try into orbiter.

That is the safest version. Only little trouble that can happen.

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Reaction score
A bit confused here... update the coding would mean that you have the source code. If the source code is posted along with the add-on, it's probably intended to be used further, and will most likely have terms of use noted inside it.

This does not automatically extend to the models, though.

dgatsoulis

ele2png user
Donator
Reaction score
Hi

OR

Thanks
Mike Davis

"Rebuild" could mean a lot of things. First of all we are talking about an addon that used Vinkas multistage.dll addon to start with.