Meshing Question What meshing program should I use?

Chub777

Reaction score
What meshing program should I use? Should I use Wings3D, Anim8or or something else? I'm new at meshing so I need an easy to use one. Thanks in advance. :thumbup:

icedown

Reaction score
Wings3d is pretty good to. Blender is pretty good but I've had some issues with materials and normals.

icedown

Reaction score
With blender the materials always have an opacity of 0 and the normals on some objects sometimes get flipped and I can't seem to get them pointed out. To solve the normal problem, I open the 3ds in Wings3d, flip them, then import it back into blender.

IronRain

The One and Only (AFAIK)
Administrator
News Reporter
Donator
Reaction score
Website
www.spaceflightnewsapi.net
I say Anim8or but as you read it's different for every user. Just try some meshing programs and use the one you're comfortable with ;)

Scruce

Ad astra per aspera
Reaction score
SketchUp. It's the easiest one to use, but it has a pretty bad UV mapper so texture in another program.

orb

News Reporter
Reaction score
As goes with Orbiter meshes, you can also try notepad with calculator for simple ones, no mesh converter or export filter needed. :p

But that approach is extreme and you usually make a mesh much slower than with earlier mentioned programs, so better :theysaid:.

However, this has potential of making very precise meshes, with very precise UV-maps, and very precisely defined materials. The downside is that you write the definition of all vertices, faces and their texture coordinates, as also material definitions by hand, and you need to imagine how the mesh looks like while you're doing it. To start with that you just need to read about mesh format in "Doc/OrbiterConfig.pdf".

Chub777

Reaction score
Thanks for the suggestions, guys. :) Still not sure which one to use, though.

SketchUp. It's the easiest one to use, but it has a pretty bad UV mapper so texture in another program.