Gravitational force - questions.

Sword7

Reaction score
Hello folks,

I am learning some from my Astrodynamics books myself. I have some questions about gravitational force. I still am figuring out about mathematics for n-body alogrithms, etc. for gravity simulation because I am new to vector math. With my search through google, I had seen some gravity simulators but they are closed-source. Does anyone have any good open-source 2D/3D gravity/orbital simulation software for both Linux and Windows?

Also, for flying a plane at 600 mph, what is difference about gravitational force or micro-gravity difference? How does it detect G-force?

For flying a space plane into orbit or go moon/other planet from the runway, can it handle both aerodynamics and astrodynamics (orbital mechanics/determination) together?

For jumping and stand yourself on different each planets, etc.., what is gravity formula?

Thanks,
Tim

tomek

legal alien
Reaction score
Website
www.orbiter-forum.com
Gravity law is basically F=G*m1*m2/r^2. That is, the force exerted, say, on Moon by Earth, is Earth mass times Moon's mass times G (universal gravitational constant), all that divided by the square of the distance between them. To get acceleration of, say, the Moon towards Earth, you divide the result of above formula by Moon's mass, which basically cancels Moon's mass out the equation. And that's about it. Universal gravitational constant equals to 6.67300*10^-11, its dimensions are (m^3)/(kg*s^2).

http://csep10.phys.utk.edu/astr161/lect/history/newtongrav.html

simonpro

Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Reaction score
Also, for flying a plane at 600 mph, what is difference about gravitational force or micro-gravity difference? How does it detect G-force?

Speed does not affect the force of gravity (at least for speeds we are commonly used to). So a plane flying at 600mph feels the same gravitational force that it does at 10mph or 2000mph.