Programming Question Help on starting programming in orbiter

Orbi

Reaction score
I want to program my own MFDs and other things and I have basic knowledge of C like upto 2D arrays and pointers. So how should I proceed to work on my own MFDs and do I have to read some physics book or have a
concept on space science along with it. Please explain this to me as I am really eager to work on this.
Sorry for such a long question and thank you for all your help.

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Reaction score
  1. You've already made the most important step: curiosity!
  2. It might be helpful if you extend your language knowledge a little from C to C++ (mostly get familiar with concepts like class / object). The more nifty bits (polymorphism, abstract classes, etc.) are not needed for a general approach, but will help to understand some things later on.
  3. Physics is only needed if the MFD has to display / act with something Physics would describe. If you -for example- create a "Black & White Flash"-MFD(tm) :p, you would possibly not need much Physics background.
  4. I would recommend to take a look at the simplest MFD example source code you can find... and then try to understand (not copy!!!) what's going on there.

ADSWNJ

Scientist
Addon Developer
Reaction score
+1 for kuddel's reply. Good for you Orbi - there's nothing like getting your first MFD to work, even if it's just a simple Hello World (i.e. a classic starting program in any language).

My suggestions would be:

1. Figure out how to install and use Visual Studio Community Edition (free!), to make simple C programs to run a command line app.

2. Learn the basics of C++. You will need this to work with the Orbiter API. Nothing to be scared of here: if you can do basic C, then simple C++ is a small step. (Now: doing C++ intuitively and properly takes a long time and a lot of work, but once you get there, you will see that C++ is the king of languages).