hi all :)

Revolpathon

Reaction score
hey

i'm new to both orbiter and this forum.

i've been fiddling around with orbiter for about a month now and was finally able to make my first take-off and dock with the ISS today (took me 2.5 hrs) (i have not used any autopilot) with the autopilot (take off and docking) i can do it in about 30 to 45 minute's. (but auto pilots teach you nothing, so i don't use em all that much)

i did use up 75 percent of my main fuel though (standard dgIV settings) and about 10 percent of RCS (which i think is good enough)

i combined Tex's video tutorial with the dg to ISS checklist posted in the tutorial section.

anyhow i hope to be able to learn allot more about orbiter, my next goal is the moon, but before that i wanna get take off and docking to be under 1 hour simulation time.

lol reading that back i sound chaotic, anyhow still excited about finally being able to do a manual dock.

greetings all from a new self claimed orbinaut

Last edited:

TSPenguin

The Seeker
Reaction score
:welcome: to the forum!

Congratulations on your docking. Once you do it a few times it will seem minuscule. Going there fast is a challenge though.

Happy Orbiting

Woo482

Addon Developer
GFX Staff
Reaction score
:welcome: to Orbiter-Forum ! Congratulations on your docking, they can be really hard for people new to Orbiter.

vonneuman

Orbinaut
Reaction score
:welcome: Congratulation on your docking. I finally completed my first one too. Although I still have to use the docking auto pilot to dock the thing.

Revolpathon

Reaction score
http://www.stillmixtup.com/CC2ISS/CC2ISs.html

use that tutorial (the plane alignment and the docking is truly detailed)
i basicly used the first part from the dg4 to iss tutorial that tex made and did the final approach with the tutorial i just posted the link to