Spacecraft Soyuz 7K for Orbiter 2016

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
702
Reaction score
746
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
Found a very, very old addon (built for Orbiter 2002!) depicting the Almaz from the AVSIM Library. The mesh is very simple in O2016 standards though, but this will do for simulating Soyuz 7K-T/A9 missions going to Salyut 3 and Salyut 5!
1621505083670.png
Salyut 2/Almaz 1
  • None (Destroyed in orbit)
Salyut 3/Almaz 2
  • Soyuz 14
  • Soyuz 15
Salyut 5/Almaz 3
  • Soyuz 21
  • Soyuz 23
  • Soyuz 24
Both Soyuz 15 and 23 failed to dock with their respective stations
 
Last edited:

Soumya-8974

Add-on developer
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
714
Reaction score
182
Points
43
Location
India
Preferred Pronouns
he/his/him
Yet another CTD when I open "Soyuz visit" scenarios under the "Skylab B" folder. Here is the log (again posted as a TXT file instead of a LOG file due to upload limitations):
 

Attachments

  • Orbiter.txt
    7.4 KB · Views: 2

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
702
Reaction score
746
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
Yet another CTD when I open "Soyuz visit" scenarios under the "Skylab B" folder. Here is the log (again posted as a TXT file instead of a LOG file due to upload limitations):
Weird, both Skylab and Skylab B scenarios work fine in my installation. Yet again, the logs tell that there are unspecified meshes missing...have you tried creating symbolic links for SC3/4 in D3D9? Not certain what would happen, just a wild guess on my part
 

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
702
Reaction score
746
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
Decided to modify the Almaz mesh so that it could properly fit onto a Proton rocket. Scaled up to 25% in all axes
1621584248233.png
1621584263490.png
Solar array and antenna animations will be added later

Docking port now matches Soyuz as well....
1621584162358.png
EDIT: Just found out in the AVSIM description that the original addon author of Almaz is McDope, all credit goes to him:salute:
 
Last edited:

Soumya-8974

Add-on developer
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
714
Reaction score
182
Points
43
Location
India
Preferred Pronouns
he/his/him
Weird, both Skylab and Skylab B scenarios work fine in my installation. Yet again, the logs tell that there are unspecified meshes missing...have you tried creating symbolic links for SC3/4 in D3D9? Not certain what would happen, just a wild guess on my part
@Gargantua2024 Thanks! I have created a symbolic link and copied Skylab I.ini to Skylab.ini, and it works! You should replace "Skylab-I" to "Skylab I".
CurrentState.jpg
 
Last edited:

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
702
Reaction score
746
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
Great work. The simple meshes are fine, as long as they are accurate. Your scaling seems correct!
Thanks 4throck!
@Gargantua2024 Thanks! I have created a symbolic link and copied Skylab I.ini to Skylab.ini, and it works! You should replace "Skylab-I" to "Skylab I".
Personally I prefer the "Skylab"-only name for the station, you could change it if you'd like to
 

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
702
Reaction score
746
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
So, I went ahead practice my novice skills in Blender to modify Almaz's solar arrays to match the illustrations. Since I do not know yet how to texture objects on Blender, I simply scaled down and duplicated the original solar array mesh groups and moved them to the desired positions....
1621758210293.png
Not entirely matched but I think I'm satisfied with the result;)...
image_gallery

Comparison from Encyclopedia Astronautica....


EDIT: It is still a mystery to me how the solar arrays are folded before launch and deployed in orbit, though. Any help in finding some information how the solar arrays work on Almaz are deeply appreciated
 
Last edited:

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
702
Reaction score
746
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
I think now I've got an idea on how the Almaz arrays work! In the NOVA documentary "Astrospies", there's an archive footage at 19:36 showing solar arrays being tested...it wasn't identified if it was MOL's or Almaz's, but it closely resembles the design used from the latter!
1621817869634.png
1621817926584.png
1621817893504.png
 

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
702
Reaction score
746
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
The fairing type used in the (civilian) Salyut program, and later the Mir core and Zvezda, are designed intentionally to only cover the smaller portions of the stations. The larger section is left exposed on the pad.
R1d0e70d4e8401a83b13e989eddf5d0f7

R8c18c6997358e6b217d817f75680e98f

DOS-1_3.jpg
Zvezda_6.jpg

In the launches of Salyut 1 (left) and Zvezda (right) for example, you can clearly see their aft components are exposed during launch....
 

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
702
Reaction score
746
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
Making the Proton fairing used during the launch of Salyut 1 and its ill-fated unnamed twin, DOS-2...
1621913327731.png
Again, the base model used is derived from Proton (Zvezda)'s to create this fairing
1621913486946.png
NOTE: Cosmos 557 is the ill-fated identical twin of Salyut 4, and therefore due to the arrangement of its solar panels, it is highly unlikely it sported fairings of the same design as Salyut 1
 
Top