Spacecraft Soyuz 7K for Orbiter 2016

Luca

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
Italy
Based on your Orbiter.log (or the launch scenarios) it seems like you haven't have the Proton 3.1 and Historical Spaceports 1.5 addons by igel installed, which are found on the same link (the Soyuz rocket is also there in case you haven't downloaded it yet) 😉
Thank you for your reply, but this addons are already installed...
 

1987VCRProductions

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 19, 2011
Messages
415
Reaction score
226
Points
58
Location
Champaign-Urbana
Okay, what should be the final adjustment.

Soyuz Docking Alignment 5.png

Changelog:
  • The entire Docking Module mesh has been rotated and better centered on its docking ports.
  • The APAS-75 end of the Module has been rotated independently of the mesh so it lines up with the most recent patch of the 7K-TM.
  • The config file for the Docking Module has been updated to reflect these changes.
  • The docking rotation for the Soyuz has been tweaked a bit in its config file.

This is about as close as it's going to get. Really the only thing missing is the docking target on the Soyuz Orbital Module that would line up with the docking crosshairs in the Apollo CSM docking window. I hope that this is a worthy contribution to the cause.

For a reference, here's the docking target as seen through the Apollo CSM docking window:

Target 1.png
Target 2.png

I rotated and flipped the image to the proper orientation (the 16mm movie camera was mounted upside-down and was photographing through a small mirror angled out the docking window). The docking target was a stand-off cross much like that on the Lunar Module and Skylab. The cross itself was red and the mount was white.

Soyuz-19_Docking_End.jpg

540px-ASTP_Soyuz_Spacecraft.jpg


The current view out the docking window:

Docking Window View 1.png
 

Attachments

  • ASTP-Patch-3.zip
    339.1 KB · Views: 7

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
673
Reaction score
693
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
Great work! Now based on the images, the current 7K-TM lacks a second front antenna rotated about 90 degrees from the first. As for the crosshair, I don't know yet how to place it but we'll figure it out
 

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
673
Reaction score
693
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
Beta crosshair....
1625885720883.png
1625885817267.png
Second antenna also added on the bottom

BTW (off-topic) I just noticed...how did you removed the descriptions and the dates on the top corners of the screen? Thanks
 

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
673
Reaction score
693
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
Ok this is the most inaccurate thing I did on the 7K-TM...
1625890456909.png
1625890495962.png
I took out a part of the IGLA antenna and made it a support for the crosshair...
I've been thinking I should modify the solar panels as well, make it shorter
 

1987VCRProductions

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 19, 2011
Messages
415
Reaction score
226
Points
58
Location
Champaign-Urbana
Looks fine so far. I'm going to move the APAS-75 petals back on both the Docking and Orbital Modules since they sit too far forward and clip through each other. Should I wait for you to finish the docking target (all you're missing is the stand-off cross) so you don't have to redo all your hard work?
 
Last edited:

Luca

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
Italy
Hmm...try reinstalling the addons
I tried, but the situation is the same. I don't understand. Probably there is something in my Orbiter installation...
I made some more try, this is the only working scenario, when I add Salyut payload to P3 it fails...
 

Attachments

  • Salyut 1.zip
    854 bytes · Views: 3
Last edited:

1987VCRProductions

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 19, 2011
Messages
415
Reaction score
226
Points
58
Location
Champaign-Urbana
There's something wrong with the zip folder for patch 4, Windows refuses to open it. Redownloading it didn't fix it so I think it's just corrupted.
 

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
673
Reaction score
693
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
I tried, but the situation is the same. I don't understand. Probably there is something in my Orbiter installation...
I made some more try, this is the only working scenario, when I add Salyut payload to P3 it fails...
Does this problem occurs on Soyuz launches as well or only on the Proton?
 

Luca

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
Italy
Does this problem occurs on Soyuz launches as well or only on the Proton?
This problem occurs also with Soyuz lauches. I think it's related to VesselBuilder1 and payload. Can you post the link to this addon?
 
Top