Idea Stable more user friendly Space station? I hope.

docabn

Reaction score
I had this idea when borrowing meshes to make half constructed ships at my moon base. They are of course non functional objects but you could get the idea that a craft is being constructed on the surface.
I was attempting to do the same with Burch’s Descartes showing it in various stages of construction when in orbit. (I’m not very good at this and am still learning so I have not published any of my items yet) but I came across an idea that might solve a couple of problems I’ve encountered and others may have as well.
Space stations fall out of orbit over time nothing like flying to mars and back and planning on completing the mission by docking with your space station in LEO only to find that it landed in the savanna a month before your arrival.
So what I was thinking was that you could make a moon with a negligible gravity, a very small diameter, in LEO, and an invisible mesh. You could then add a single surface base on this invisible moon. Using meshes you could use the mesh, or meshes that would be your space station until it looks right and is sitting with the false moon at its center which means that while you cannot crash into the edges of the mesh where it extends from the false moon but there is some limited collision detection.
You could then take a single ship (option for invisible mesh for this one as well) use the universal cargo deck to add modules with docking ports where ever you need them.
I will spend the next few days working on this but I am unfamiliar with manipulating planets. I am also hoping that if I have missed something or if this has already been tried and failed that someone will stop or offer advice before I start. If it does work I will post pictures and copies of the config files as soon as I can.