Project MoonBaseAlpha for 2016

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,697
Reaction score
2,673
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Oh, From the choice box dest is char




inline static char dest[50]; inline static char str[50]; static bool ChoiceBox(void* id, char* str, void* data) { sprintf(dest, "%s", str); return 1; }

As I understand it. If dest =1 attach the UACS to the TCAR attachment.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,697
Reaction score
2,673
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Trying to figure out why this is not working. I have put debugging hints. But still no clue.

What works. is the guy opens the doors and goes to the area. open a choice box. pick 1

This is where it breaks. if 1 go to attach UMMU. I have debug hint of TCARDEST sets for different things. according to debug the guy is attached but he isn't
 

Attachments

  • TCARFLOWCHART.jpg
    TCARFLOWCHART.jpg
    36.7 KB · Views: 10

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,697
Reaction score
2,673
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
On the Eagle. Re redid the cockpit so it resembles the show. I added 6 MFDs.

I have the cockpit and main body set as VC and cockpit. So that when in the Cockpit you can see other meshes.

BUt in VC mode you only get the MFDS not the full screen HUD.

@BenSisko

It sounds like I need to add the thrust level,... to the vc mesh And do a fake mesh for the pitch ladders,.....
 

Attachments

  • huddisplay.jpg
    huddisplay.jpg
    89.6 KB · Views: 10
  • eaglemfd.jpg
    eaglemfd.jpg
    53.9 KB · Views: 10
Last edited:

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,606
Reaction score
2,328
Points
203
Location
Wolfsburg
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
What is your goal with the Eagle? Do you want to make a VC with the elements from the show? Or do you want to make a generic cockpit, that justs adds some more realistic looking MFDs to the background?
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,697
Reaction score
2,673
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
@BenSisko
I think what we want is a functional craft.

What I did and put working MFDS 2 on the Pilot and 2 on the coPilot side. and 2 in the center.

the VCHUD was from my Interstellar LAnder. But the rcs,..... is painted on the dash.

So it sounds like I need to put a HUD mesh.
 

Attachments

  • eaglemfd.jpg
    eaglemfd.jpg
    53.9 KB · Views: 16
  • vchud.jpg
    vchud.jpg
    64.6 KB · Views: 17
  • eaglemfdsetup.jpg
    eaglemfdsetup.jpg
    86.1 KB · Views: 16

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
10,871
Reaction score
2,129
Points
203
Location
between the planets
But... why not slap the HUD on the pilot window? Why do you need it to overlay the entire cockpit, rather than be a part of it? That's the thing I don't get here. Maybe I'm missing something embarassingly obvious.
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,606
Reaction score
2,328
Points
203
Location
Wolfsburg
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
Yeah, that would be my first thought.That would be a perfectly normal hud. I'm not sure if you can have two without some hacking, though. Not much experience with VC

Should work, but maybe look weird, when you are in the opposite seat, just like the real one.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,697
Reaction score
2,673
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Thanks. So I added a mesh group for the HUD. But I don't see anything on it.

It is the right group. If I select another group I see the mesh

static VCHUDSPEC huds = { 1,93, { -1, 1, 13 }, 0.5 };
oapiVCRegisterHUD(&huds);


So weird what were group I select becomes transparent?
 

Attachments

  • eaglevchud2.jpg
    eaglevchud2.jpg
    60.9 KB · Views: 7
  • eaglevchud1.jpg
    eaglevchud1.jpg
    63.4 KB · Views: 6
  • eaglevchud.jpg
    eaglevchud.jpg
    45.8 KB · Views: 7
  • eaglevchud3.jpg
    eaglevchud3.jpg
    86.5 KB · Views: 7
Last edited:

Boxx

Mars Addict
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
180
Reaction score
123
Points
58
Location
Paris Area
Nice interior! However, in my understanding/memories, Eagles' views to outside would rather be a hemispherical glass in 2 halves (left and right) offering a large field of view (90°x90° left and 90°x90° right), than 2 flat tiny windows, aren't they?
 

Boxx

Mars Addict
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
180
Reaction score
123
Points
58
Location
Paris Area
Hence, a HUD similar to DeltaGlider's HUD would make a lot of sense
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,697
Reaction score
2,673
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Well Technically the pilots could not see out of the windows as they are too low.

But I think what we want is a screen that shows the pitch ladder. There would be one for the pilot and copilot.

I did this for the Lander for Interstellar. But the hud doesn't display in 2016. Not sure why?
 

Attachments

  • landervctest.jpg
    landervctest.jpg
    71.7 KB · Views: 6

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,697
Reaction score
2,673
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So is so weird. Using the DG code. But still no hud in VC. I know the DG has it. My Endurance Ranger and Lander no HUD in VC. But they do in 2010,
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,907
Reaction score
204
Points
138
Location
Cape
This may be a stupid question, but did you press cntrl + H ?
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,697
Reaction score
2,673
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
No change with that. It is odd the what ever mesh group I make fo r the hud. It makes it transparent?
 

Buck Rogers

Major Spacecadet
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
351
Reaction score
270
Points
63
The stock space shuttle has 2 HUDS.
IIRC, the windows are flat (but I last watched it years ago!)
I think the dragon has the stepladder?
 

BenSisko

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
420
Reaction score
45
Points
28
Nice interior! However, in my understanding/memories, Eagles' views to outside would rather be a hemispherical glass in 2 halves (left and right) offering a large field of view (90°x90° left and 90°x90° right), than 2 flat tiny windows, aren't they?
No, the interior shape of the cockpit viewports in the original show was supposed to be slightly different from their external appearance. According to the show, they were actually monitors. We're modeling them as windows though.
 
Top