Gaming orbiter video i made recently...

good?

• Total voters

zeldafan156

Reaction score
hey i just made this yesterday and i wanted to know what you guys think... its my first time realy trying to make a video and not just throw some crap in a pile, and its also the first time realy trying to use Vegas pro,sorta,:camera:

feedback is appreciated :)

Unstung

Reaction score
To be honest:
I got real bored about 30 seconds into it, skipped ahead for a while, then quit. The first problem is that it's too long. It also uses far too lengthy shots. Second, if you want to make a "real" "video game video" (two phrases that contradict themselves in my opinion), you need to practice more and watch others' videos. I can understand the whole video from watching a second of each shot, it's a rudimentary montage.
I started out by watching this, recommended to me: http://tinyurl.com/2az43s I got some ideas from it.
Now, I don't want to be "mean," or anything, this is what I really think of the video (this is more critical): It looks like a bunch of random clips from a flight thrown together in Movie Maker set to music. Sony Vegas has a lot of potential, and I haven't even used much of it. You need to watch others' flight videos; Ramasurinen's is the perfect example and Tex's have many good parts; and learn from them. Take some ideas, some techniques from the videos.
You can also Google film techniques, video editing tips, etc. Read a few and try from there. Youtube has many, many tutorials for Sony Vegas. Though, to be honest, practice is better than the tutorials, or to try to figure out what you want to do first. Practice by making short videos. When you're ready, spend effort in making longer ones.
Finally, make a detailed plan in your head, at least, for the video. When it gets more advanced, you'd want to write things down on paper to be more organized and be more efficient, possibly in the form of a screenplay or shot list.

Last edited:

zeldafan156

Reaction score