Humor Random Comments Thread

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Reaction score
It's kind of weird how sometimes you come full circle. It has been some time since I last managed to accidentally build an infinite loop into my code. The patterns that lead to them become kind of easy to spot after a while, and none of them has a chance to make it past the first unit test anyways.
But working with stateful distributed systems that need to message each other, and where those messages often trigger some action or other that might trigger further messages, I am discovering entirely new and miraculous ways to make them happen without warning and under circumstances that are difficult to determine, what with usually several servers partaking in the merry go-round. I feel like after almost 10 years as a professional developer, I'm finally back where I started.

Truly, Rube Goldberg should be declared an honorary software engineer!

Linguofreak

Reaction score
It's kind of weird how sometimes you come full circle. It has been some time since I last managed to accidentally build an infinite loop into my code. The patterns that lead to them become kind of easy to spot after a while, and none of them has a chance to make it past the first unit test anyways.
But working with stateful distributed systems that need to message each other, and where those messages often trigger some action or other that might trigger further messages, I am discovering entirely new and miraculous ways to make them happen without warning and under circumstances that are difficult to determine, what with usually several servers partaking in the merry go-round. I feel like after almost 10 years as a professional developer, I'm finally back where I started.

Truly, Rube Goldberg should be declared an honorary software engineer!

Just don't combine a distributed infinite loop with a Sorcerer's Apprentice bug. The technical term for this failure mode is "network go bye-bye".

Urwumpe