Warhol on the moon

Namahage

Reaction score
via Apollo 12!

Found this story on the Onion first but I thought this headline was a bit catchier:

Andy Warhol Left a Penis Doodle on the Moon

Watch the PBS episode

If true, this has to be one of the better "Easter Eggs" for future pioneers. The video also explains how project engineers inserted family photos aboard the lander. What other contraband is up there?

Last edited:

cinder1992

Random failhurricane.
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Reaction score
Website
cinder1992.blogspot.com
:blink:

he did WHAT now? either this is some sort of a hoax, or something has altered the space-time continuum.

Namahage

Reaction score
This may or may not be a hoax. You can watch the entire PBS segment in the 2nd link above. It's quite interesting. It explains how engineers stashed a number of undocumented items inside the lunar lander. For me, that alone is a surprising revelation.

Then again, I'm no space expert. Is this normal?

Andy44

owner: Oil Creek Astronautix
Addon Developer
Reaction score
No, it certainly is not. Spacecraft are assembled in clean rooms for a reason; hiding objects on them can introduce contaminants and creates a FOD hazard. All items on a space vehicle like that are to be accounted for under strict configuration control. If it'snot in the CC'd drawings it doesn't go on the bus. In addition, there are written procedures for every step of construction. Not following them will get you fired so fast your ears will flap.

I really am surprised to hear Kupcyk admit to doing something so irresponsible. No matter how "hot" he thought his team was, this was dumb. Especially on a manned vehicle!

Quick_Nick

Passed the Turing Test
Donator
Reaction score
I believe it was Apollo 12 where they also snuck a camera timer to the moon, and certain 'pictures' made their way into the astronauts' checklists.

statickid

CatDog from Deimos
Donator
Reaction score