DG Booster Ring Project

HarvesteR

Reaction score
hello...

just thought i'd post a pic of my Booster Ring project for the Delta Glider...
mind that this is a 3DMax rendering composed in photoshop, and in no way the finished project

composite1.jpg

i have the mesh pretty much done now... might add some detail later... i didn't want to make it more detailed than the DG also, because i want them to blend... for that reason i also 'borrowed' the DGs textures for the ring.. saves memory and time too... since this is my first project, i didn't wanna spend a lot of time working on the visual model, so i can get to the fun part which is the actual 'getting it into orbiter' part... plus if you recolor the DG, the ring will change color accordingly ;)

the 'theory' here is that the Ring is a small but efficient particle accelerator, that collides particles together and expels them out the thruster nozzles, generating an incredible amount of thrust using very little fuel... :speakcool:

the idea is that the ring will stay in orbit, and the DG will launch and couple with it before going to a distant planet and use it's massive thrusters to accelerate quickly, then when on a stable orbit around the destination, it will decouple and reenter on it's own, just like in Star Wars

i thought i might make it powerful enough to be able to navigate on a straight line towards the destination, like hyper-sped fast... but i'm not too sure... i know there are some MFDs around for that sort of navigation, but i don't know if it takes the fun out of the sim... the other idea is to simply make a it very fuel efficient and powerful engine that can do all the burns in little time and make orbital maneuvers quicker

let me know what you think

Cheers :cheers:

HarvesteR

Bluefinger

Reaction score
Looks pretty cool actually, but a few questions:

1. Will it be compatible with other variations of the DG, such as DG-IV or DG XR1?